user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 0);

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
mfk
Posts: 66
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 6:54 pm

user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 0);

Post by mfk »

Has anyone added this to their prefs.js file? It seems to make Phoenix screamingly fast, on par with Opera 6 even. I wonder, why isn't it enabled?
User avatar
Stefan Fleiter
Posts: 8
Joined: November 6th, 2002, 5:01 pm
Location: Germany

Re: user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 0);

Post by Stefan Fleiter »

mfk wrote:Has anyone added this to their prefs.js file? It seems to make Phoenix screamingly fast, on par with Opera 6 even. I wonder, why isn't it enabled?


What's the meaning of this pref?
If there would not be any disadvantages it was enabled by default.
User avatar
laszlo
Posts: 5225
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 6:13 pm
Location: .de
Contact:

Re: user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 0);

Post by laszlo »

Stefan Fleiter wrote:
mfk wrote:Has anyone added this to their prefs.js file? It seems to make Phoenix screamingly fast, on par with Opera 6 even. I wonder, why isn't it enabled?


What's the meaning of this pref?
If there would not be any disadvantages it was enabled by default.

This is how I understand what it means: Gecko normally delays the first paint of a page for a certain time while it is still loading to bring down the number of reflows needed to correctly show the complete page. The more reflows, the higher the total page load time.

The default is 1200ms. If the rendering calculations are done before this period has elapsed, it will show it anyway. If not, it's displayed in a not yet complete state and then reflowed until it can be showed correctly. 1200ms seems to be the best compromise to give the best overall performance.

If you set it to 0, painting will start almost instantly, which gives a very fast appearance, but total page load time will rise in most cases because more reflows are needed until the page reaches its final rendering state.
Balboa
Posts: 35
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 2:04 am

Post by Balboa »

Well put. I guess technically it takes longer to complete, but because you can read the content sooner, the trade-off might be worth it for some people. I quite like it so far!
User avatar
Ploum
Posts: 245
Joined: November 11th, 2002, 3:14 am
Contact:

Post by Ploum »

where must I place de prefs.js file ?
Image
User avatar
Stefan
Posts: 2051
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 2:46 am

Post by Stefan »

Ploum wrote:where must I place de prefs.js file ?


http://texturizer.net/phoenix/edit.html
User avatar
Ploum
Posts: 245
Joined: November 11th, 2002, 3:14 am
Contact:

Post by Ploum »

yes, i read it ! but i put it in phoenix\defaults\profile but it doesn't change anything ! (for exaple, the link when I click the logo is still mozilla.org )

I'm under winXP
Image
User avatar
Stefan Fleiter
Posts: 8
Joined: November 6th, 2002, 5:01 pm
Location: Germany

Re: user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 0);

Post by Stefan Fleiter »

@laszlo:
Thanks a lot for the detailed explanation.
I think it might be worthwile to experiment with
this if you are not interested in benchmark alike
page load numbers, but in beeing able to start
reading soon.

On the other hand setting this value too low, will
probably lead to rearangements of partly layed out
sites.
User avatar
laszlo
Posts: 5225
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 6:13 pm
Location: .de
Contact:

Re: user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 0);

Post by laszlo »

Stefan Fleiter wrote:@laszlo: Thanks a lot for the detailed explanation.

Bitteschön :wink:

Ploum wrote:yes, i read it ! but i put it in phoenix\defaults\profile but it doesn't change anything ! (for exaple, the link when I click the logo is still mozilla.org )

I'm under winXP

Seems to me you're somehow putting it into the wrong directory. Did you you closely follow the instructions?

There's another way to find your profile dir(s). Exit Phoenix and start it with the "-ProfileManager" commandline option. There should be at least one existing profile (usually called "default"). Click "Create Profile", then "Next". You'll see a dialog asking for a path to put the new profile in. The directory shown minus the profile name itself is the directory where the "default" profile lives in. Cancel the Profile Manager.

Change to this default profile directory. You should see a "cache" dir, a "chrome" dir and several files where profile information is kept in, one of which is prefs.js. Put user.js into this directory, or carefully edit prefs.js itself accordingly.

Start Phoenix, load about:config. If some of the changes don't show up, don't worry, they may not be supported by Phoenix. If you chose the user.js method, exit Phoenix again and look if prefs.js has changed (the changes from user.js should be in prefs.js now, if supported).
User avatar
djst
Moderator
Posts: 2826
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 1:34 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by djst »

Ploum wrote:yes, i read it ! but i put it in phoenix\defaults\profile but it doesn't change anything ! (for exaple, the link when I click the logo is still mozilla.org )

I'm under winXP


You did not read it! Read it again.
User avatar
laszlo
Posts: 5225
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 6:13 pm
Location: .de
Contact:

Post by laszlo »

djst wrote:You did not read it! Read it again.

There has to be something wrong with these two sentences, but I'm just not able to figure out what it is :wink:
User avatar
djst
Moderator
Posts: 2826
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 1:34 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by djst »

laszlo wrote:
djst wrote:You did not read it! Read it again.

There has to be something wrong with these two sentences, but I'm just not able to figure out what it is :wink:


I know. :) I thought about it as soon as I submitted it.

Ok Ploum, maybe you read it but you didn't understand it! Now read it and understand it. :)
User avatar
Stefan
Posts: 2051
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 2:46 am

Post by Stefan »

Ploum wrote:yes, i read it ! but i put it in phoenix\defaults\profile


That is the compleatly WRONG place to edit in.
It's well explained in the FAQ

Hint/keyword -> Application Data
User avatar
Ploum
Posts: 245
Joined: November 11th, 2002, 3:14 am
Contact:

Post by Ploum »

I want to apologize for those stupid questions !

I was looking for folders in my Apps folder, but not the Apps data folder of my windows profile ! (I thought I remove them... but it's windows !)

Many thx to Lazlo for his help ! It was very helpful !

My user.js is now

// Stop reusing active windows:
user_pref("advanced.system.supportDDEExec", false);
user_pref("browser.throbber.url","http://frimouvy.udev.org");
user_pref("network.http.pipelining", true);
user_pref("network.http.proxy.pipelining", true);
user_pref("network.http.pipelining.maxrequests", 100);
user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 0);


And phoenix is incredibly faster than before ! It's wonderful !

Note that I put nglayout in user.js and not in prefs.js... (just because I don't understand the difference and I prefer edit only user.js )
Do you think that I must put nglayout in prefs.js ?
Image
KWW
Posts: 1
Joined: November 15th, 2002, 9:16 am

Post by KWW »

Thanks for the preference it really speeds up Phoenix. :D
Post Reply